SNP Members of the European Parliament

Ian Hudghton

Ian Hudghton was first elected to the European Parliament as North East Scotland SNP’s unanimous choice candidate in a 1998 by-election.    Ian sat alongside SNP MEP Winnie Ewing until her election to the Scottish Parliament in 1999. Prior to this Ian had served as one of Scotland’s four members of the EU Committee of the Regions.

Ian was elected President of the Scottish National Party at the Party’s Annual Conference, following Winnie Ewing’s retirement from the post in September 2005 and has been re-elected at each successive Annual Conference.

“My ambition is to see Scotland develop politically, restoring our position as a normal independent country with the automatic right to be represented at the top table in Europe, and fully participating in the international community of nations.”

Alyn Smith

Alyn Smith was elected to the European Parliament for the first time in 2004 and has been re-elected twice in the SNP victories in the 2009 and 2014 elections.

He is Honorary President of the Young Scots for Independence as well as a member of the SNP’s National Executive Committee.

In Parliament, he is a full member of the Foreign Affairs Committee and a substitute member of the Agricultural and Rural Development Committee.  He is a full member of both the Delegation for Relations with the Arab Peninsula and the Delegation for Relations with Iraq.